Skip to main content

Jason Flatt Youth Suicide Awareness Act

Jason Flatt Youth Suicide Awareness Act (SB 323)

Monday, January 16, 2017 Jason Flatt Inservice resources

The Kansas Legislature passed SB 323 which is known as the Jason Flatt Youth Suicide Awareness Act.  This provision requires each school district to provide suicide awareness and prevention programming to all school staff.  

If you or a friend need to talk with a counselor for help or for resources available in your area, call the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 1-800-273-TALK (8255), a free, 24-hour hotline available to anyone in suicidal crisis or emotional distress. Your call will be routed to the nearest crisis center to you.

SB 323 – August 4th Update (original statute and requirements)
K.S.A. 72-8260 provides:
“(a) This section shall be known and may be cited as the Jason Flatt act.
“(b) The board of education of each school district shall provide suicide awareness and prevention programming to all school staff and shall notify the parents or legal guardians of students enrolled in such school district that the training materials provided under such programming are available to such parents or legal guardians. Such programming shall include, at a minimum:

(1) At least one hour of training each calendar year based on programs approved by the state board of education. Such training may be satisfied through independent self-review of suicide prevention training materials; and
(2) a building crisis plan developed for each school building. Such plan shall include:

(A) Steps for recognizing suicide ideation;
(B) appropriate methods of interventions; and
(C) a crisis recovery plan.

(d) On or before January 1, 2017, the state board of education shall adopt rules and regulations necessary to implement the provisions of this section.”


In order to get you started here are some relevant resources for youth suicide prevention:

Jason Flatt Foundation:

Kansas Suicide Prevention Resource Center:

National Suicide Prevention Life Line:

SAMHSA Suicide Prevention Page:

Suicide Prevention Resource Center:

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention- Kansas Chapter:

Kansas Suicide Hotlines:

Center for Disease Control (Suicide):

Yellow Ribbon Suicide Prevention:

American Association of Suicidology:

Headquarters Counseling Center:

Johnson County Suicide Prevention:

Sedgewick County Suicide Prevention:

Greater Kansas American Foundation for Suicide Prevention Facebook Page:

The Trevor Project (for LBGTQ students)

Kansas Adjutant General’s Suicide Prevention Program (designed for the military):

Spring Hill USD Suicide Prevention Page:

Chisolm Trail (Olathe) Middle School Student Support Services:


More Resources (External)